The rules around resolving this weirdness were accidentally tripping on their own feet. The list of state-based actions keeps getting longer and longer. If a person is dressed up as non-human, and is killed by someone who sincerely believes the victim was not human, who is responsible? Some people argued that this rule also instructed the ancient Romans on how to count, and without stating that IV is 4, Rome would surely fall and certain new Saga cards couldn't work. The rule reminding you who chooses counters is dropped, since there are no more choices on the counters, and the other two rules are updated to match the new reality. DISCUSSION Rules change: Proliferate now adds a counter of EACH kind instead of "a kind" submitted 3 months ago by Lapper Judge Compare [[Atraxa, Prateor's Voice]] to the new card [[Flux Channeler]]. I think you're certainly correct in theory, especially considering past changes in the game that were causing issues with minor changes by comparison. It's been missing one thing from the old rules on copiable values: replacement effects that define values, like Primal Clay! Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. On the issue of + and - counters on the same creature: I was under the impression, that those countered each other out and would be taken of the creature? Is whatever I see on the Internet temporarily present in the RAM? What is the best way to remove 100% of a software that is not yet installed? Companions make it matter which happens first, since we need a starting player before setting aside cards before shuffling. We've had kitties and deities and slime. The rules can count, I swear. There were five exceptions—and now there are six. For some situations, it can even be a nerf, such as your Infect Commander deck now having to make a choice playing against an experience counter commander. This can get very deadly if your opponent has even one poison counter, or their creatures have -1/-1 counters! All the state-based actions that only apply in specific variants are broken out into a new 704.6 rule! Search for the perfect addition to your deck. Why alter the power level of all those existing cards? “Question closed” notifications experiment results and graduation, MAINTENANCE WARNING: Possible downtime early morning Dec 2/4/9 UTC (8:30PM…. Most importantly, it slams on the brakes to make sure Sanctum of All does not cause an infinite loop of triggers. This is what proliferate does: You may choose any number of permanents and/or players with counters on them, then give each another counter of a kind already there. That's all well-established, but commanders make it weird: we don't use "spell" to refer to "cast your commander," but if we don't, does that mean you control your commander while it's on the stack? 903.9 down in the Commander section has also been updated with this change. Will countering a spell that left the stack still trigger abilities? Why do internal forces not affect the conservation of momentum, Importance of “gerade” to express “just about to”, Horror movie of the 70s: WW2 German undead supersoldiers rise from ocean, Construct a polyhedron from the coordinates of its vertices and calculate the area of each face. Posted in News Comprehensive Rules ChangesOracle Changes, Posted in News And proliferate doesn't just work with only one permanent or player. They said that talking about "a" card saw all of the cards if we were getting information on them or taking actions on them, but that's not true—every ability taking actions on the cards wanted you to pick one. In between edits and revisions, the change to this number was eaten (perhaps by the number seven), but now it's back and should be here for good. It's that time of year again! If something exiles something else "until" an event and that event happens before thing two is exiled, thing two doesn't get exiled at all. @Erik Yes the point was that it's not very likely for a creature to have both a good and a bad counter at the same time, because the most common type of good and bad counters that show up on creatures can't both exist at the same time. Why were the rules for Proliferate changed? @Erik You are right in your assessment. (The term for what you're experiencing now is semantic … The rules for proliferate got a makeover! This new rule shores up support for Panharmonicon-style effects that say an ability triggers additional times. However in practice, I don't think the situation of wanting to add more than one counter is going to come up all that often - and when there is a deck that benefits from it, Proliferate was very likely already a game changer for it before. Is the word ноябрь or its forms ever abbreviated in Russian language? But this seems to be a change just to deal with the fact that "Proliferate" changed; it's not an explanation of the fact that Proliferate changed or why. Introduction The sixth is mana abilities, which don't use the stack but are still abilities that can instruct "you" to do something. When we decided to bring back proliferate, we realized we could make a simple change that would both, on average, make the mechanic more powerful and clean it up for digital. This rule explains how chapter symbols use Roman numerals. Proliferate is a new ability made in the set Scars of Mirrodin. It only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you. Abilities that ask for information about the cards still check both. This seems like a big change that suddenly changes the way a bunch of existing cards work; in most cases making all of those cards stronger. Why would I choose a bike trainer over a stationary bike? Now that's here again. Can you believe it? The other 30 keyword actions after it all get bumped down a number. The rule reminding you who chooses counters is dropped, since there are no more choices on the counters, and the other two rules are updated to match the new reality. Linked abilities can get weird when one of the abilities exiles one card and the other talks about the one exiled card, but through shenanigans like Panharmonicon, we get two exiled cards. Did the original Star Trek series ever tackle slavery as a theme in one of its episodes? I shouldn't spend much time here, but before I go, here's a new Commander state-based action. But Palace Jailer exiles a creature until someone else becomes the monarch—and a player may have become the monarch much earlier in the game! With the release of War of the Spark, the rules for Proliferate changed. There were eight special actions—then the companion change made nine. Yawgmoth's Will will exile cards that would be put into your graveyard. To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers. Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers. Previously if a player or creature had more than one counter, you the owner of the proliferating source chose which one of the different counters to duplicate. Stack Exchange network consists of 176 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers. Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience. 1 Description 2 Rules 3 Rulings 4 Examples 5 Enchantments that grant just Fear 6 References The ability has existed since Alpha, where it was printed on a card called, appropriately, Fear. 120.4a. Active Player, Non-Active Player, APNAP. The old replacement effect no longer applies to dying or getting exiled, so your commander can die a bunch now. This new version doesn’t make you chose, but instead duplicates all of them. If your commander moves to a graveyard or exile, you get one chance to move it to the command zone. Dog joins the list of creature types! This new rule clarifies something that other rules allude to: APNAP without an AP uses the starting player as AP and the others as NAP. The game begins by shuffling up your decks and choosing who goes first. Basri joins the list of planeswalker types! It can easily occur for players, though, if they have energy or experience counters and poison counters, for instance. This new rule clarifies how Yawgmoth feels about this: if the permanent isn't a token, it all gets exiled, even token components; and if it is, the permanent dies but the cards among it get exiled. This rule has an update for what happens when you have a face-up creature that has a face-down card floating around inside of it thanks to a mutating creature spell: you still reveal that face-down component. If you have a merged permanent, it could have some cards and tokens mingling. site design / logo © 2020 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under cc by-sa. Or a Gideon with a +1/+1 and loyality counters, I see. As Gavin and Mike discussed tod... © 1993-2020 Wizards of the Coast LLC, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Why Does Magic Use The “Paris Mulligan” Rule? This rule now checks only for that "until" event after the spell or ability is put onto the stack or triggers.